Fri 24 Jun 2016

The CCFNT conducted its Annual Gala Dinner at the Darwin Skycity Casino in the Beachside Pavilion on Friday night the 24th of June, 2016.

The Earth Awards recognise Environmental and Construction Excellence in Civil Construction projects in the Northern Territory. The event also includes the Trainee and Apprenticeship Awards.

Minister Chandler was on hand to welcome four inductees into our Hall of Fame for Services to the Northern Territory Civil Construction Industry. This was the Federation’s inaugural staging of this event. Michael Halkitis, Fraser Henry, Peter Hassall and Dave McHugh were welcomed to the stage to accept their awards from the Minister for their outstanding contribution to the construction industry.

Arjays Sales and Service were awarded the Subbie of the Year, as nominated by Allan King and Sons Constructions, for their Supply and Installation of Guard Rail on the Tiger Brennan Drive Project.

Neil Hallagan, CEO of the Civil Contractors Federation, said “it was a fantastic event supported by the Minister of Infrastructure, Peter Chandler, and sponsors from across the Northern Territory to celebrate the high standard of construction in the NT and the recognition of our Trainee and Apprentices.”

The evening was enjoyed by 230 members, associates and friends with great food and entertainment provided by The Fame Junkies feat. Chrissa Valanti.

The categories and winners for the Trainee and Apprenticeship Awards were:

Max Johnson                        BMD Urban                        First Year Apprentice of the Year

Stephen McMillan                BMD Urban                         NT Mature Age Achiever (Joint Winner)

Wayne Oliver                       Dept of Infrastructure         NT Mature Age Achiever (Joint Winner)


Braedon Risk                       BMD Urban                          Indigenous Trainee Award

Tobias Micek                       Hastings Deering                Rae Snodgrass Apprentice of the Year

The Earth Awards were awarded to the following Projects in each category:

Cat 1   HI-Spec Civil Equipment Pty Ltd   (WPP-Lateral Inpex)

Cat 2   Brierty (Zuccoli – Stage 2E)

Cat 3   Sitzler Pty Ltd (RAAF Darwin Flood Mitigation)

Cat 4   Allan King and Sons Constructions (Robertson Barracks Join Logistics Unit Upgrade)

Cat 5   East Arm Civil (Ichthys Project Onshore LNG Facilities-Darwin)

Cat 6   BMD Constructions Pty Ltd (Tiger Brennan Drive Duplication)

Congratulations to all nominees, finalists and winners.

High resolution photos are available for download below. Click the thumbnail to view a larger photo, or right click and ‘Save Target As…’ to save it to your computer.